On July 4, Russian President Vladimir Putin signed into a law in order to allow football fans, who will visit Russia during World Cup 2018, enter the country in a problem-free way. The draft law was passed last month by both houses of the Russian parliament, the State Duma and the Federation Council.

Thanks to this law, visitors of the international football tournament will be the holders of Fan ID, which will help them to enter Russia without visa. Holders of the Fan ID will be able to stay in Russia during the global football tournament as well as for the period of ten days before and after the championship.

Before entering the country, holder of the Fan ID, will have to show an identification document with a ticket for a match or a document verifying the purchase of a ticket.

Russia is now in a busy preparations process for the global football championship after winning the bid to host the 2018 World Cup against England, the joint Portugal and Spain and the joint Belgium and the Netherlands. In order to eliminate delays regarding the construction of infrastructures for the 2018 FIFA World Cup, Vladimir Putin has approved a list of instructions.

The country selected 11 host cities to be the venues for the matches of the 2018 World Cup and they are Moscow, St. Petersburg, Sochi, Kazan, Saransk, Kaliningrad, Volgograd, Rostov-on-Don, Nizhny Novgorod, Yekaterinburg and Samara.

The matches of the 2018 World Cup will be held between June 14 and July 15 at 12 stadiums located in the 11 mentioned above cities across Russia. Two of the stadiums are located in the Russian capital.

In June 2017, there will be another football tournament in Russia. Confederations Cup can be considered as a warm up tournament for the 2018 FIFA World Cup. The Confederations Cup is a relatively new FIFA tournament. The tournament can be explained as a small FIFA World Cup. The best team of each confederation participates including the host and the current World Cup champion. 8 teams will play the 2017 Confederations Cup in Russia. The host country of the Confederations Cup is the same country that will host the World Cup the year after. 2017 FIFA Confederation Cup matches will be played in the cities such as Moscow, St Petersburg, Sochi and Kazan.

Leave a Reply