Germany is extending its entry restrictions at six national borders to air and shipping traffic, the interior ministry said late Wednesday.

EU citizens coming from Austria, Spain, Italy, Switzerland, Luxembourg and Denmark will no longer be allowed into Germany by air or sea unless there is an “urgent reason to travel,” said the interior ministry in a statement.

Travelers coming from EU countries may only land at a German airport if they are traveling from their original destination to their home country.

Germany had imposed the land border closures with those six countries earlier this week.

Earlier today, German Chancellor Angela Merkel warned the public: She asked all citizens to play their part in containing the pandemic.

“Things are serious. Take this seriously. Since German unification, no, since the Second World War, there has not been a situation that was so dependent on us acting together in solidarity,” she said.

by Nadine Schmidt



Leave a Reply